Just Finished: Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally

Catching Jordan is the first YA book that I’ve read in a long while.  It’s also the first YA contemporary that I’ve read in EVER (I think).  Most of my YA adventures have centered around the paranormal world.  What can I say – I’m a girl with an obsession of the weird and othernatural.  That being said, I absolutely adored this book.

Jordan is a girl flourishing in the male-dominated sport of football.  As captain and QB, she leads her team effortlessly.  They respect her, depend on her and look up to her.  But then new boy Ty comes to town and threatens to take her spot and her team.  Not to mention the havoc he plays on her hormones.  For the first time in many years, she doesn’t want to be seen as just “one of the guys.”

I really liked seeing the awkwardness as Jordan explored her new found emotions, only to discover that love was right in front of her the entire time.  Her journey with her father was also very heart-warming, as Jordan came to understand why her father wished she would quit football and he understood why she wanted to play.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for a light, fresh romantic comedy as a teenage girl navigates her way through the finer points of football and love.

Leave a Reply

