Book Review: The Mind Readers

The Mind Readers (Mind Readers, #1)The Mind Readers by Lori Brighton
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 3.5

This story follows Cameron Winters, a teenage girl with a secret that she hides from the rest of the world: she is a Mind Reader. To the world around her, she must appear normal, or risk exposure to them…the people that would destroy her and her grandmother, who can also read minds.

Life at home leaves a lot to be desired. Her grandmother is overprotective and somewhat overbearing. All Cameron wants to do is finish school and move away so she can have some peace. While she’s in school, she maintains her status of BFF’s with Emily, the most popular girl at school, who basically uses Cameron to stroke her own fragile ego. Cameron knows that it’s only a matter of time. That is until she meets Lewis.

Lewis turns her world upside down. He tells her no to hide what she is. That he can take her away to train her to use her powers, but to do this she will have to leave her old life behind. To Cameron, this sounds ideal, but she soon finds out that the grass is not greener on the other side.

What I loved:

I absolutely loved the beginning of this book. The first line hooked me in and made me want to read more. I was really excited for the story, and the pace and the tone were great. That being said…

What I liked:

I liked the character of Cameron well enough. I liked that she had a secret power that she sort of used to her advantage, even though she ended up getting the short end of the stick because of it. There were times when she demonstrated great strength. She was tough, yet vulnerable. I’ll be honest – there were times when I wanted to smack her, times when I wanted her to fight back because she could. But overall, I felt she was a good lead.

What I didn’t like:

There were times when I had a hard time relating to the characters. Some parts of the story didn’t resonate with me, as well. I felt like there was a great start to the story and I was expecting more action, more suspense, but I didn’t get it in the form that I was craving. I suppose I wanted more of a thrill given the start of the story, but instead I felt like the story’s tempo slowed a bit. There were also bits and pieces in the world itself that I had a hard time connecting to. For example, I had no idea that they were in New England until Chapter 2. I know that’s not a huge deal to some, but to me I like to understand the world where I’m at, the culture that I’m immersed in. It helps me build a better picture as a reader.

Overall, the book was good and I will most likely read book 2 in the series. It had a sort of X-Men vibe, but without all the flash mutant powers, mainly just focusing on the mind powers. There are some twists and turns, though some things are predictable within the book. I think that the second book will likely clear up some answers to the questions that the first book left.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

