Book Review: The Pearl Savage

The Pearl Savage (Savage, #1)The Pearl Savage by Tamara Rose Blodgett
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 2.5

When I picked up this book on my Kindle, I was excited to read something that was a bit sci-fi/fantasy and this looked like it would be an interesting read. It follows the story of seventeen-year old Clara, a princess in a future world, who escapes to the Outside, a place ruled by savages. The synopsis of the story drew me in at first. A princess who wishes to escape an abusive mother and an arranged marriage escapes to the Outside, the area that lays beyond her sphere. What she finds is that the savages that live there are not as savage as they are believed to be.

What I loved:

I’ll be honest, there wasn’t much that I loved about this book. I found it a very difficult read to get into. It was a blend of dystopian and steampunk with a historical twist and the mish-mash didn’t do the book any favors. That being said…

What I liked:

I liked the concept for the story. It was imaginative and had great potential.

I especially liked the character of Anna. I found myself wanting to know more about her and where she came from. I really liked watching her coming out of her shell and seeing her love blossom with Joseph.

I liked how the character of Prince Frederic was done. He reminded me of Joffrey from Game of Thrones. That is what I pictured when I read him. Very sadistic and wanting to force the princess to love him through physical abuse.

What I didn’t like:

Again, I didn’t like the mish-mash of genres that were present. It made it a bit difficult to follow. Also, there were entirely too many POVs for me to follow. I feel that it could have been streamlined.

I wasn’t a fan of the pace of the story. It seemed to take forever to get into where things really started happening. I was anticipating more action earlier in the book.

The romance in the book was really tough for me too. I expected a bit of romance, even a love triangle (which is typical in YA), but a love quadrangle (perhaps even a quintangle or hexangle…is that a word?)? It just wasn’t for me.

Overall, this book just wasn’t for me. It took me a long time to get into the story, and when I did, then ending left me disappointed. I don’t think that I’ll be picking up the rest of this series. I read ahead to see the synopses of the next books in the series and I’m satisfied in knowing essentially what happens. I’m going to try the Death series to see if that is something more my speed. This one didn’t ring my bell.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

