Book Review: The Rock Star’s Daughter by Caitlyn Duffy

The Rock Star's Daughter (Treadwell Academy, #1)The Rock Star’s Daughter by Caitlyn Duffy
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 4.25 stars

I picked up this book because it was a recommendation on my Kindle, and it was free, so I thought “what the hey, let’s give it a shot.” I’m really glad I did. I was surprised by how much I really enjoyed this book.

The Rock Star’s Daughter follows Taylor Beauforte (Atwood)as she navigates a semi-hectic life where she is more of the adult and her mother is more of the teenager in the relationship. Her dad is a famous rock star, a fact that she tries not to acknowledge because he’s really never been around in her life. His biggest contribution is that he pays for her education at Treadwell Academy.

Taylor’s life is turned upside down when tragedy strikes and now she’s forced into a relationship with her father. That includes her (sometimes wicked) stepmother, Jill, her spoiled rotten half-sister, Kelsey, and a life that uproots her from everything she knows and loves in Los Angeles. Throughout the journey in this novel, Taylor discovers a lot about herself, her father and her new family, how to cope with loss, and how to balance life as she knew it with life now as she knows it.

What I loved:

My favorite part of this story was watching the relationship between Taylor and Jill transform. Taking on a new teenage daughter is difficult and having a new step-mother is just as difficult. I liked reading the peaks and valleys and finally coming to an understanding that is tender and really just heart-warming.

I loved the writing in this book. I though that Caitlyn Duffy’s voice really grabbed you right from the start. It showed maturity, yet vulnerability and really brought Taylor’s character to life for me.

What I liked:

Honestly, I liked pretty much everything in this book. I think it was well-written, the story was interesting, the transformations of the characters during the journey was really fun to watch.

What I didn’t like:

Again, there wasn’t much I didn’t like. If I had to pick something that I might have liked to have seen more resolution to, that was the relationship between Taylor and her friend Allison. That felt a little open ended to me.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I felt like it was fun and genuine and heartwarming. The book struck a nice balance between the dark parts that made you sad and the light parts that made you happy. If you’re expecting a book about the boarding school, then you might be disappointed because Treadwell is really only a mention in the book and is not the main setting for the story; however, it is the common denominator in the series. I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

