Book Review: The Believer’s Daughter

The Believer's Daughter (Treadwell Academy, #2)The Believer’s Daughter by Caitlyn Duffy
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Okay, I’m going to be honest here and say that I flubbed up and read book #3 before book #2. That being said, the stories in this series are so seamless, that I didn’t lose anything by reading the third book before the second, so bravo to the author for that. So, let’s get to the review.

Actual Rating: 4.25

The Believer’s Daughter follows the story of Grace Mathison, the daughter of a beloved and respected (and let’s not forget, wealthy) televangelist. Grace is not ashamed of her God. She loves her family and the work that they do. There are some things that she doesn’t understand, but she believes that her family knows what is best. She isn’t immune to the taunts from the girls at her school, the prestigious Treadwell Academy.

After a mission trip that saw her in Colombia, she arrives home to learn that her brother has committed what her father considers an unspeakable crime against the family and he disowns Aaron, making Grace wonder what would make her father do such a thing. When she finally talks to her brother, he convinces her to come on the run with him to New York City, leaving behind everything and everyone she ever knew. But in losing the old, she discovers a new and tougher part of herself that she never thought possible. And through the betrayal of her family, she discovers that love and honor go much deeper than what is on the surface.

What I loved:

I loved (of course) watching Grace’s transformation. For me, there was a personal touch to it that I could relate to, growing up in a very religious household and then gaining the freedom of being out from under that thumb. Watching her discover that things aren’t always what they seem to be and finding the strength and courage to do what’s right was really powerful to me.

What I liked:

I liked the friendship that developed between Grace (Gigi) and the reporter, Tony. It was cool to see someone who was reporting one side of the story give the time and credit to a kid who might otherwise not be listened to. Some might say that it’s not really believable that a kid would be a credible source, but nothing is impossible. And through this friendship, Grace was able to get a clearer picture of her family.

What I didn’t like:

There wasn’t much that I didn’t like about this book, as with the other books in the series. I would say that the runaway life was not as realistic as it could have been, but I can’t say that because the author prefaced that part in her book saying that being a runaway is much more difficult. So I have to give credit there. There were points in the story where Aaron bothered me because I felt like he relied far too much on Grace, but I believe that was the point of the character.

All in all, I thought the book was fabulous. Not everything about wealth and luxury is glittering gold. It shows that people, no matter their status, have problems and can be miserable. This book does touch on some dark and controversial issues, but it’s well-written with a strong voice and I really enjoyed it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

