Book Review: The Viscount’s Daughter

The Viscount's Daughter (The Treadwell Academy Novels, #3)The Viscount’s Daughter by Caitlyn Duffy
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 4.5

As I stated in my review of book #2, I flubbed and read this book before the second, but it didn’t really matter because the stories and writing is so seamless, I wasn’t lost. And I have to say, of the three Treadwell novels out right now, The Viscount’s Daughter is my favorite of the three.

The Viscount’s Daughter follows the story of Betsey Norfleet, who we met in book #1, The Rock Star’s Daughter. Betsey is 14, obscenely rich, royal by marriage, and it seems is completely and totally wild. She has a reputation that is not good, especially since she is linked to her no-holds-barred older sister Bijoux. But Betsey has a secret. A very dark secret that she is scared to share with anyone, including those closest to her. Because this secret can break her family apart and may validate the horrible reputation that she wishes she didn’t have.

What I loved:

This book dealt with some really heavy topics, but I loved the treatment of them. I liked seeing the struggle between what was expected versus how Betsey actually wished things could be. She acts a certain way because she thinks that’s how she’s supposed to act. So when she turns a new leaf, it’s hard for people to take her seriously. But her transformation is amazing. She finally demonstrates a courage that so many lack. I wanted to cheer for her and hug her and be her friend.

I also loved the moment where Betsey realizes that her dad cares more than she could ever know. He is a big rock star, but he’s also a father. The scene with them together was so touching and so heartfelt.

Finally, I loved the dedication in the beginning of the book. I know a lot of people don’t read those, but I do. The dedication to those carrying a secret because there are so many Betsey’s in this world resonated with me. You think about all of the people you know and how their secrets affect them and how they might be scared to tell. It’s a reminder to always be open and available and to encourage good communication.

What I liked:

I liked the character of Nicola. I liked that she was beautiful and popular, but suffered from a disorder that made her unique and interesting. There is a perception that people of wealth or status are perfect and have these perfect lives but that couldn’t be further from the truth.

I liked Bijoux in this book. As much as she annoyed me in the first book, and irritated me in this book, watching her come around and figure out what is important was a cool thing to read. And to see her and her sister reach a new level in their sisterhood – well that was yet another very cool moment in this book.

What I didn’t like:

Again, there was very little that I didn’t like about this book. Sometimes I wanted to smack Taylor for being a little neurotic. I wanted to smack Betsey for not believing that there was someone who would believe her. But that’s part and parcel of the story. So my emotional investment in the characters was exactly what it should be.

Overall, I would highly recommend this book to any YA readers. There is a Gossip Girl element to it with the wealth and the power, but there is so much more substance in this reader’s opinion. I’m looking forward to the next book in this series.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

