Book Review: The Collector by Victoria Scott

The Collector (Dante Walker, #1)The Collector by Victoria Scott
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Dante walker might be flippin’ awesome, but Victoria Scott is a freaking genius! The Collector is, by far, in my top 3 reads for 2013. The Liberator cannot get here fast enough.

I remember when I featured this book on my blog as my very first “Waiting on Wednesday” pick. After meeting Victoria at a writing conference and learning about the yumminess that is Dante Walker, I knew that I could not wait to get my hands on this book. So worth the wait.

This book had everything for me. I laughed (a lot), I swooned (more than a lot), I melted, I cried. I don’t even know where to start, there is so much goodness here.

First, Dante. Yes, he’s a jerk. And an arrogant a-hole that you want to smack. But what else would you expect from Hell’s top guy? When you’re awesome, you’re awesome…right? He’s the anti-hero, the guy that will do anything to save himself. But to see his journey…*sigh* His transformation to realizing his own worth, to forgiving his own sins – well, it was just awesome. I just want to hug him.

Charlie is your atypical, but yet amazingly perfect heroine. I love how she knows who she is. I love how she sees the world and the goodness in it. I love her missteps and her flaws, because she’s not perfect, and that’s what makes her so endearing. She was relatable, wonderful, and someone who I probably would have considered a friend in school.

I love the secondary characters in this book. Annabelle, Blue, Max, Valery – love them beyond words. They added depth and contrast perfectly, and I loved watching their interactions with Dante and Charlie and seeing how everyone’s stories and lives were intertwined.

The only thing that I wasn’t 100% on was the big bad. He kinda came out of left field for me, which is fine. Part of the “enemy” made sense, but then the other part wasn’t as cohesive. Didn’t mean I didn’t love the story anyway. Cause I did.

I highly, highly, highly (did I mention highly?) recommend this book. If you’re a fan of YA, you will love it. And you will become a fan of Victoria Scott because she is just awesomesauce.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

