REVIEW: The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

I officially hate Suzanne Collins. 

Okay, really that “hate” is in quotes.  She’s amazing.  Talented.  Brilliant.  Oh, who am I kidding – I adore her.  But daggum it, I think The Hunger Games trilogy nearly gutted me.

I have a ton of books on my TBR list, and everyone raved about The Hunger Games series and how incredible it was.  And I knew I would get around to it eventually.  Then the movie showed up on Netflix.  And I watched it.  And gasped.  And cried.  And wanted to alternately hug and smack Katniss.  I knew that if the movie made me react that way, then I could only imagine what the books would do.  So I read.

I started the first book on May 16th.  I finished the last book on May 20th.  And I mourned.  Oh, how I mourned these fictional characters that I only knew for a matter of days!  I felt so raw – and it was incredible.

And that’s when I said to myself, “I want to write books like that. I want my books to be like that.”

Not exactly like The Hunger Games, because there is only one.  Not the next Hunger Games either.  But to elicit that raw emotion and stretch a character to their limits and then one step beyond – oh, how I want that visceral reaction from readers when they finish my book. 

As a writer, this is the first time that I’ve read a book and said to myself, “I want to do that.”  And that was a very powerful moment for me.

So, if you haven’t read The Hunger Games trilogy yet – READ IT!!!  It’s a whole lot of awesome.  And if you have read it, sound off in the comments about what you loved most in the books.  Or what you hated most.  Or what you wish would have been different.  (Note – no being abusive though.  We all have our opinions, but let’s be respectful.  Thanks!)

Leave a Reply

