What’s Up Wednesday (#1)

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

Right now, I’m reading Origin by Jessica Khoury. This book has been on my TBR pile for a while, and I’m glad I’m finally getting around to it. Jessica has such an amazing writing voice, and this idea is so fun, it’s easy to see why this book was published and optioned for a movie! I’ll be excited to see this one on the big screen. 

Reading is a luxury that I’m only getting to at night, mainly because writing has taken priority. This leads me to…

What I’m Writing

Earlier this month, I finished my first draft of my first novel. 

I was so excited to finally see the the end of what was both a labor of love and the bane of my existence for about a year and a half. So now, HACKED is in the first round of revisions. Initial feedback from my betas showed the story has a lot of promise, but like most first drafts, there are many holes to be patched and filled. It’s a tad overwhelming, but I’m looking forward to revising the story and making it stronger than before.

What Inspires Me Right Now

There’s so much that inspires me, but right now I’ll have to go with my discovery of the “Beat Sheet” from Save the Cat! Throughout my writing process, I knew there were “things” inherently wrong with my draft. The pacing was a really big issue for me and truth be told, I wasn’t sure how to fix it. I’d tried so many methods of plotting but none of them worked for me. Until now. I revisited my story with a beat sheet, trying to navigate the beat to find the pacing. And voila! The gaps became apparent and I revisited to see what needed to be cut. Needless to say, I was quite inspired to start right back into editing and I’m even more in love with my story than I was before. 

What Else I’ve Been Up To

I’ve discovered the joys of navigating first loves with my 6-year old son. Though it’s been a while since we’ve had “girlfriend drama,” my son and I had the following conversation on Monday on the way home from his after-school program. (NOTE: For the friends who have seen this on Facebook, I apologize for the repeat.)


Kiddo: Girlfriend and “other kid” were not being nice to me today. She hurt my feelings.
Me: Okay. What happened?
Kiddo: We broke up.
Me: You broke up? What happened?
Kiddo: Well, I thought she loved “other kid.” And she didn’t love me. And she was talking to “other kid.”
Me: Did you break up with her or did she break up with you?
Kiddo: Well, I broke up with her. Then she broke up with me.
Me: … Okay.
Kiddo: Yeah. I have drama.
Me: You have drama?
Kiddo: Yes. I have some of the drama. And do you know what? When she was with me, she didn’t even want to be with me.
Me: Who told you that?
Kiddo: My friend. He told me.
Me: He said that?
Kiddo: Yeah, he said “You have all the drama. You need to take a day off and just don’t worry about girls for a little bit. You need be by yourself for a while.”
Me: …
Kiddo: And he said, “Yeah, you can’t invite girls to your house all the time. And if you don’t be by yourself for a while, girls can be loud, and yell, and be noisy, and break stuff. And they might even mess up your house. They might even mess up your TV by breaking it.”
Me: … (I really have no words at this point because I’m laughing and almost in tears)
Kiddo: So yeah, that’s what happened.
Me: So you and girlfriend are broken up?
Kiddo: Nah. We fixed it. We’re together now.


*facepalm* I think I’m in trouble when he gets older. 

Hope everyone has a great Wednesday!

Ciao kittens!

13 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday (#1)

  1. Ah, I've been wanting to read Origin! You'll have to tell me more about it 🙂 Oh and congrats again for FINISHING! Yayyy! And yayy minions!! Hehe…You better keep a close eye on him though 😉

  2. I love that Minion gif! Seriously, one of my faves. I read Origin a while back and enjoyed the world building, thought the character development was lacking. Keep up the good work on your revisions.

    Love that transcript of you and your son. Adorable.

  3. Oh my gosh, that conversation was hilarious. The funny thing is there were some nuggets of wisdom tucked in there. I have had ORIGIN on my shelf in my office for so long now it's kind of getting ridiculous. It is on my list of Must Read Soon books. I'm happy to hear it's good. Congrats on finishing your draft! I'm in the thick of revisions right now, so you're not alone. Have a great week!

  4. Oh my goodness! That conversation with your son — too cute! I am a HUGE fan of Blake Snyder's Beat Sheet. It totally changed the way I write, and I often find myself identifying the beats when I watch movies. It's crazy how pretty much all of them follow a nearly identical formula. Best of luck with your revision, Stephanie!

  5. I'm glad my son has good friends to keep his head on straight, even at this age! Revisions are daunting, but I'm glad I've reached this stage in my book. It's nice to know I'm not alone. 🙂 Have a good one!

  6. Yes! The Beat Sheet is my new best friend. It's formulaic enough to keep me focused, but not too strict to where it confines my writing. Thanks for stopping by and have a fab week!

  7. I read ORIGIN recently and really enjoyed it as well. I didn't realize it's being made into a movie though. I'll definitely be going to see that one! I really need to check out SAVE THE CAT. I sometimes wonder if I'm the only writer left on the planet who hasn't yet. The Beat Sheet sounds very helpful, so I'll need to look into that more. Good luck on your revisions!

  8. I haven't read ORIGIN yet, but I've heard really good things. And CONGRATULATIONS on finishing your first draft of your first novel! That's a big deal. Also, I absolutely love the conversation you had at the end between you and your son. I love kids. They are so crazy.

  9. The Save the Cat beat sheet is a lifesaver – I use it when planning all my books now, and also when revising.

    Love the conversation, haha!

    Have a great week!

  10. I loved Save the Cat and the beat sheet idea. That was a big eye-opener for me, too. I can't say as I've followed the beat sheet idea step for step but it helped me a lot with process.
    I had a similar love-life conversation with my 11-yr-old recently. Although, thankfully, she was telling me how disgusted she was with people in her grade who are “going out.” She said, “Here's what they do – they go up to the other person and ask if they want to go out and if they say 'yes,' they go back and squeal to their friends and then they never talk to each other again. Ever. They forget they're even supposed to be going out!” Yeah, elementary school drama. Oh my!! 🙂 Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

